Don’t pull a Kanye.

Image

Haruki Murakami once said, “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” Haruki Murakami (a name that I, even with the help of Google, have a tough time pronouncing) has a point but lately I seem to only want to read what others are reading. Mostly because of my curiosity of wanting to know what the hype is all about. When people were talking about Fifty Shades of Grey, I went out, bought the three books, and finished it all in a week and a half. (I’m not a fast reader at all.) I don’t think I would agree with a lot of women when they expressed such enthusiasm about it, saying things like, “It’s such a great book! OMG—BEST SHIT, EVER!” Though I don’t necessarily think it is the worst read, I certainly do not believe it is anywhere near the best. I assume these same women who made the opinion on Fifty Shades of Grey just never read an erotic novel before. There have been many books that I’ve read because someone else has suggested it but it did not necessarily mean that I thought what he or she thought. Am I making sense? So in my opinion, though I agree with that wonderful quote above, I suggest that people should ALWAYS read what others are reading—that way you can form your own opinion on it (hopefully, you’re not a bandwagoner and just say what others have said) and rate it on Goodreads for people like me to be motivated to read it and agree with you or read it to challenge your shitty ratings. I know when I see a crappy rating on a book and read the reviews, there is this voice inside my head that channels my beloved spirit animal, Neil Patrick Harris, and say, “Challenge accepted!”

Image

“I am not a fan of books. I would never want a book’s autograph. I am a proud non-reader of books. I like to get information from doing stuff like actually talking to people and living real life.”
Kanye is someone we should all strive to be. We should certainly raise our children to be completely arrogant through their ignorance. Forget philosophy, science and literature when you can just school them with ‘Kanyeism”.

I’m truly afraid that society is becoming:

Books < Kanyeism
#yolo, choose to live wisely. 

5 thoughts on “Don’t pull a Kanye.

Leave a Reply

