This year it is just another day.

20131222-071145.jpg

 

I’m not celebrating Christmas this year. I mean, maybe I am…I’m exchanging gifts and saying “Merry Christmas” but I just don’t think my heart is in it this year. For no reason in particular, I simply just don’t feel like it. My closest friends and family are referring to me as the Grinch/Ebenezer Scrooge because I’m not even wrapping the gifts that I am exchanging. I simply just don’t care for it.It started with not getting the tree up on time. Last year, I put my tree up a week before Thanksgiving because I was excited for December. This year, it remains in my storage closet with all the ornaments in a box tucked neatly beside it. (We don’t believe in getting a real tree because we can’t deal with the mess and I don’t like the smell of it.) Then with preparing for finals, and working two jobs—I kind of forgot about it. Next thing you know, Christmas is literally 5 days away (oops.) At this point, even if I wanted to, I wouldn’t even bother to put up the tree just to tear it down in a few days.

I’m making it sound like the tree is the only thing that amounts up to Christmas but, to me, it is. Christmas = Christmas Tree. No Christmas Tree = No Christmas. I don’t even follow Christianity religion! We adopted the holiday as an excuse to give one another presents because almost everyone else in America is celebrating Christmas. We’re fake Christmas-ers.

On a lighter (merrier, ha) note, I received my first 4.0 grade point average in my whole college career, this semester. I know, I know—hold your applause! Thank you, thank you. No, but really. I’m pretty excited about that. I’m hoping this puts me one step closer into transferring to my dream school. I don’t want to say the name because I don’t want to jinx it. Let’s just keep our fingers crossed that, one day, all of this will pay off. The best part about winter break is knowing that I will be able to go through my long reading list. In hopes that my son will never be like Kanye West, I (Mama Santa) bought him a ton of books this year.

 

14 thoughts on “This year it is just another day.

  1. How do you not LOVE the smell of Christmas Tree?! I wait ALL YEAR to light my Basalm candles. Let me know which good books you read– that would be a great blog post, a book review 🙂 ❤ you

    • Haha, I know! I am a complete weirdo. I might be the only one who doesn’t enjoy the smell of a Christmas tree. I will be more than happy to a book review!! I’ll get it up before school starts once I finish my list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

