Stop tying expectations with flowers!

Image

 

I was watching Neil Diamond and Barbara Streisand’s Grammy performance of “You don’t bring me flowers” and it made me really want to go out to buy flowers for myself. The song speaks about a relationship falling apart and how things change between two people. The used-to-be’s and the not-anymores happens often in relationships but if you buy flowers for yourself then you don’t have to feel bad about the used-to-be’s or the not-anymores. You can simply brighten up your own day by buying them for yourself just because you can. I remember reading this particular blog about all the reasons why the author didn’t want her boyfriend to buy her flowers. It stuck with me because her reasons included that flowers always meant “I’m sorry” or it would elude to future disappointments due to given high expectations; meaning if you give a girl flowers in the beginning of the relationship or on anniversaries, she will expect them all the time, and if you don’t give her flowers anymore then it would lead to the “used-to-be’s”. 

In my opinion, I think people think too deeply into things and maybe they should just enjoy some nice fresh flowers. Whether someone gives them to you, buy them yourself or pick them from the garden next door — just enjoy the simple beauty that comes from having flowers in a vase on your table. I know these made me cheery.  Happy Monday! 

ImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Stop tying expectations with flowers!

Leave a Reply

